It’s all about manners!

It’s the same every year. Spring is in the air again and I can feel it all over my body. It tickles, I’m getting restless and I can’t stop looking at all the lovely girls among the gulls that gather around the lakes in my neighbourhood. And as I watch the girls fly bye, I notice they are looking at me too and that exits me even more! I want to mingle and pick a nice gull to be my girl for this year. While I’m watching the gulls and consider to make my move, my mind lingers off to last year, when I met this stunning gull and took her out on a date.

I still remember the moment I saw this beautiful gull and said to myself ‘what a lovely girl, let’s take her out for diner!’. I am familiar with the fact that – with food-loving gulls – it almost always ends with them finishing your plate. But in the heat of the moment I couldn’t imagine that this fine-looking girl was the kind of gull that needs to have her pick of your dish to get her started. So we dressed up and went to a nice little place where the tables are set up in the middle of a nice little lake. I could feel the romance linger in the air, the sun started already setting and everything looked perfect for a lovely evening and maybe a promising night. We sat on a table (it sounds a bit odd but that’s what you do around here) and started to chat. We talked about this and talked about that and after a while we even started to talk about spending the summer together. I knew by then I was all into her and I felt she was getting into me too!

Meanwhile I finished my meal and was ready to order desert when the gorgeous gull leaned towards me and started to whisper in my ear. At that moment I thought I was at third base but then I realized she was just begging me to share my diner with her. She wanted to have a taste of what I had, she said, even though my plate was empty. And I knew right then and there what it meant 😳 . Against my better judgement I thought she was just joking but as she persisted I knew this was serious.

And there I was, caught in the middle… If I would ignore her begging, I knew romance would be over on her part. On the other hand, if I would give in I was not sure that I would feel romantic afterwards. Then Mother Nature lend me a hand to make my decision. The thought of me throwing up so she could have her pick made me feel really sick and before I knew I was regurgitating my main course. Much to her likings, she didn’t waist a second and went for the scraps that where on the table…again! And meanwhile I was kind enough to shade her from the sun a little as she enjoyed MY meal.

Kokmeeuw-1-2

As soon as she finished she said ‘thank you’ and tried to kiss me. As she gently opened her mouth the smell of regurgitated fish got into my nostrils, and I felt I was going to be sick again. As far as I could remember I had never been reluctant to kiss a beautiful gull before but this poorly mannered girl was not going to be my summer love…I just didn’t have the stomach for it! 🙂

I feel a little shiver down my spine as I try to fade my memories. This year is going to be great and I take off to meet a nice little gull who is winking at me. Let’s find out about her manners, I feel hungry again!

Leave a Reply

